Possibly the most depressing day of the year…?

It’s the last day before the routine of wake/work/sleep starts again and always with myself I miss Christmas. The ‘loss of time concept’ and general festive cheer always makes it one of my favourite times of year, if not the best. There’s such a build up to the day that once it’s here it seems to go far to quickly though, especially now I’m the dodgy side of 30.

I have however made a effort this/last year to enjoy each day in December as it came/comes, wether that be watching ‘home alone’ or ‘die hard’ (it’s definitely a Xmas film). My other purpose is to make it the most magical time of year for my daughter (cliché I know). I don’t mean by buying her lots of things but to try and capture what I remember about Christmas when I was her age and provide a similar experience.  I wonder if all parents do the same thing..?  I suppose that depends on what childhood memories you have of the Christmas times.

So the reason for this post was about ten minutes ago when I was removing the batteries from the Christmas decorations.  I thought to myself what a sad thing I’m doing, the contrast of joy and sadness separated by only a few days, what a bizarre thing. Stairway to heaven was on the stereo and I found myself listening to the words that little bit more. It makes you think..

However I was interrupted by my daughter, she made me a present. (an envelope with Xmas paper inside) she was so excited to give it to me, just like on Christmas day.  I guess it doesn’t have to be Christmas day to have that same feeling! The decorations may be coming down but they will be back up again soon plus we have all the other cool stuff to look forward to in the year…

I guess my conclusion to my babbling is that.. It is what it is and what you make of it is what counts. Glass half full and all that sh#t 😀 (reminds me of a Red Dwarf episode)

Have a good 2016 guys, make it what you want it to be!

Leave a Reply

