How you know you’re a geek

Earlier tonight I was playing megabloks with my daughter (big lego), she made a nice Disney Princess castle and I made a robot head.

My wife asked me how I did it so quickly, I replied without hesitation ‘I imagined the blocks were pixels and went from there’ I subconsciously used my inner geek to create an bitmap block robot head. Now if that’s not geeky I don’t know what is, initiate ‘smug mode’

Anyone else done anything massively geeky without realising it?

One Comment Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Hrm, I usually know when I’m geeking it (just a little bit). I was ruminiating on this one overnight and I can identify at least three overlapping strands of geekery which are pertinent:

    i) the media/product/brand/person fandom – where the focus is on the thing and explicit, sometimes performative acquistions or exploration of that thing.
    I DO THIS A LOT, BUT MOSTLY CONSCIOUSLY

    ii) the intellectual curiosity angle, “I wonder what would happen if…”
    I KILLED A MAN IN RENO, JUST TO WATCH HIM DIE

    iii) bringing the wrong tools to bear on a problem, attacking it at the wrong level
    A NOTORIOUS EXPRESSION OF NERDERY. EXHIBIT A IS THIS POST, YES?

    tl;dr – that is a cool Mega Bloks face

    Like

Leave a Reply

