Evelyn “Champagne” King

I struck up a conversation with a guy at work the other day about what a great tune Shame by Evelyn “Champagne” King is.

Then it dawned on me that I know very little else from her. I guess Love Come Down is her other biggie. So I hit up Spotify and they have expanded albums with remixes and b-sides a plenty. I started with 1985’s A Long Time Coming, as I knew the track Personal Touch. The album was pretty solid, albeit very much of its time. But I am definitely down with that mid eighties electronic disco/soul sound. Hard to pick a standout track, it’s all good stuff apart from the overly cheesy track 2 and the bland ballad in the middle. Don’t miss Dub A of Slow Down and Take a Chance on the bonus disc.

A Long Time Coming

Then I moved on to 1980’s Call On Me, which has more of a classic disco and jazz-funk vibe. The 12″ version of Let’s Get Funky is a fantastic slice of disco-boogie and the rest of the album is also very solid, though not as catchy as the above.

Call On Me

2 Comments Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Particularly digging the sax and hand claps on Shame. Need to sort myself out a Spotify solution. The fact you didn’t title this post “The Lady Is A Shamp/Champ” is to your credit, because it’s an appallingly-rubbish pun to simply shoehorn randomly in (ahem!)

    Like

    1. acidbearboy says:

      I caved in and subscribed 12 months ago after a free trial. Never really like the idea of renting music rather than owning it, but I must say that it’s been a godsend with regards to finding new music now I don’t have chance to sit at the computer all afternoon. Offline downloads are also super handy as we have no 4G here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

