To play alone, a sporty number

on

I was thinking back the other day about the last time I played a sports based video game on my own and a time I actually enjoyed it. I can’t really remember a time, to be fair it’s mainly team sports that I find I have no interest in when flying solo. I’ve owned countless football (soccer) games and not once felt the need to partake against the computer. On the flip side I very much enjoy a 2 player + contest, maybe it’s a retro thing or even a social thing for me. Laughing at your friend after you have just whooped them 14-3 at sensible soccer is far more entertaining than shouting jibes at your Amiga.

Similarly I find playing online doesn’t really have the same je-ne-sais-quoi as with players in the same room as yourself. It’s well known that communication is down to body language as it is to do with the verbal word and there’s nothing like healthy competition to spurn you on and fight back.

This has quickly morphed into I don’t like playing video games alone post which is totally untrue, stick me in front of Peggle or Mario and I won’t notice you leave. I could play Smash TV or Mortal Kombat 2 and they are ‘multiplayer first’ games.

I suppose the main reason I thought about this was because now we are all grown up we haven’t got that same freedom to just meet up and smash some Mario Kart, NBA Jam or Hyper Bishi Bashi. I do miss those times.

‘video game friends’

4 Comments Add yours

  1. acidbearboy says:

    Imagine not having a brother to play against! I played a shit load of ISS Deluxe and NHLPA Hockey on my own, probably more I’m forgetting too. The most recent sports game I enjoyed was everybody’s golf on psp – it’s perfect for short bursts (lunch, toilet etc.) and also good whilst watching tv, as it does not require 100% attention.

    Like

    1. Da22 says:

      That’s true but I rinsed alot of ps2 pes with you and E. Everybody’s golf is a multiplayer game that I doubt I could play on my own.

      Like

  2. acidbearboy says:

    It’s definitely fun in multiplayer, but golf is a solo game however many players there are. You’re just playing to try and better yourself.

    Like

  3. Da22 says:

    True unless someone wipes your memory card.. Not that I’m bitter about that.. At… All 😬

    Like

Leave a Reply

