RIP little buddy

Yesterday marked a black day in my house hold. While getting ready to go out for a forest ramble I had the idea of introducing my kid to the megadrive, particularly the little blue speedster, Sonic.

It all started off so well, I retrieved the console from its usual storage box, carefully plugged it all in and powered it on. However instead of being greeted by the familiar “SEGA” I got a black and white fuzz ball of a picture. I did the usual IT shuffle (unplug it all and back in) and hey presto it worked.

Ten minutes later and a hat full of Sonic goodness for my daughter couldn’t get enough, nearly completed act one. Proud is the word I’d use to describe my feelings at that point in time… But…. Then… Disaster!

The bloody thing died! No amount of jiggery-pokery could revive it and I knew.. I’d lost a friend 😥

So here’s to you SEGA megadrive, you are lost but will never be forgotten.

(straight on eBay and bought another of course!)

(oh and we were late for the forest ramble which was very muddy but great all the same incase anyone was wondering)

20151025_115128.jpg

4 Comments Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Noooooo! I know that sinking feeling!

    Thinking about it, I’ve got through two of nearly every computer/console I’ve owned, except my trusty, dusty MegaDrive I (which was 2nd hand in ’94). You’re giving me the fear!

    Like

    1. Da22 says:

      Ironically the one console that never failed me is the xbox360, I had two and neither skipped a beat!

      Like

Leave a Reply

