Destruction faeries!

Is there something in the 2016 air?

I got out my trusty Super Nintendo to continue my daughters education into gaming following on from the Mega Drive incident only to find more carnage.

Slotting Super Mario Allstars + Super Mario World into the sleek grey (gray) beast I’m greeted with the familiar chatter of the title screen. However mashing start button on my pad does nothing, I’ve always thought that game was odd having to use the start button instead of A or B. “Daddy is this one not working either” I felt like Bill Gates at that fateful Microsoft conference, darn tech letting me down!  It did turn out that the start button on my pad had bit the dust!

Back to eBay!

Luckily I have a spare (of course) and my daughter managed to finish word 1-1 before getting frustrated which is great considering she’s three and the only games she has played have been on a phone. It does amuse me when she’s tilting the control pad to move Mario/Sonic left or right 😂

Any of your retro/recent stuff broke?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Had to smile at this recently my son came to me saying one our snes pads was faulty (start or select can’t remember) so I cleaned it and got it working. After complaining to my son how dirty the buttons and even the inside of the pad was, his retaliation was well it’s older than my sister (both my kids have left college / university ! god I feel old

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Da22 says:

      I know the feeling mate, it’s and we are all showing out age!

      Like

  2. stevenger says:

    Ha! My Mum has always done the tilting the controller thing since back in the 2600 days.

    Like

  3. acidbearboy says:

    I have a SNES pad with a spongey start button, you really have to push it hard. SNES pads are easy to dismantle and clean though. Just got a Bluetooth SNES pad for the pc – it’s quality!

    Like

    1. Da22 says:

      Yeah pretty much what I’ve tried, works better but still naff!

      Like

  4. Mr. Wapojif says:

    Great looking blog! I adore the SNES – still my favourite console ever. The best console ever, in my opinion, as well. I have my SNES still but at the moment I’m a fan of downloading SNES games to the Wii U and playing them on the GamePad. Headphones in and all. A special experience. Innit!

    Like

    1. Da22 says:

      I totally agree the SNES is the best console of all time, some great classics, the sounds chip and mode 7 were great. Thanks for the praise too most appreciated

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

