Where We Are Now

It’s a month today since David Bowie‘s death was announced. Despite making a couple of posts about his music in that time, I didn’t really talk about what he, his music and his other works meant to me. I’m not going to do that now, the internet is chock-full of better-expressed words on that subject. Something that did cross my mind at the time was the idea that, like the common wisdom that one only fully becomes an adult when ones parents die, we all have to be our own David Bowie now that he’s not here to do it for us. Let your freak flag fly and all that. Gotta make way for the Homo Superior!

Like all good intentions and New Year‘s resolutions, that’s fallen by the wayside for me. I’ve got two small, personal Bowie projects I wanted to get done and between work, excessive gaming, this blog and Real Life™ I’ve not even made a start on either of them. One of the interesting themes of the Bowie obituaries and think-pieces has been people (including vgr2016’s own Da22) articulating something paraphrasable as “I didn’t know I was a Bowie fan until he died”. I’ve loved reading variations on that sentiment and I’m not normally a gatekeeper, but if I don’t get at least one of my projects well underway/done by Easter everyone reading this has my full permission to kick me in the shins any time I claim to be a Bowie fan.

My initial splurge of Bowie-listening has reduced to its admittedly-high normal level (the only artists by whom I have multiple albums on my phone are Bowie, NIN and Die Krupps). I was listening to Blackstar again earlier today after having put it aside for a week or two and it struck me how much its relative brevity works in its favour, regardless of whether that was an intentional choice or forced by circumstance. All killer, no filler, like the 7-8 solid songs you used to get on an LP (I’m particularly thinking Metallica, Iron Maiden and Bowie again here!). I’m especially enjoying Dollar Days at the moment, which strikes me as the sort of song that could get lost or buried on a 12+ song album, e.g. The Next Day (which is excellent and I’d say the sheer quantity of songs is its only flaw).

Having praised brevity, I’ll take a leaf out of my own book and leave my wandering thoughts there.

“I can’t read and I can’t write down….”

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Da22 says:

    Do we get to know what the projects are.. If not how do we know when to boot your shins?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. stevenger says:

      Excellent question! I’m ever-so-slightly sick of my procrastinatory yapping about ideas so your best bet is to just start doing Lisa Simpson kicks without even a “hello” until I produce something which could plausibly be one of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Funny thing is I am Spartacus …. Let me explain many years ago I pick up an LP, Ziggy stardust and the siders from mars and was hooked bought it all, then bought it all again on CD ! Yes I would call myself a big fan, but strange I own a number of Bowie t shirts never really worn them cos it’s never been that cool to be a Bowie fan suddenly it is. So why Spartacus well all thing are connected NIN, Metallic, Iron Maiden, Punk, Goth, Metal, Dance, and Soul whatever style of music you like, may not owe anything to Bowie, but all those that make it have Bowie in them. We are all Spartacus

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

