Urgent Reminder: Thou Art Mortal

Swedish band Psycore have an excellent song about a young child’s unquenchable, suicidal desire to visit the zoo despite his potentially-fatal allergic reactions to fur. It’s essentially Into The Wild with less walking.

Following a suggestion by Da22, here are the lyrics reproduced as best as I can, with one minor alteration. Please note: we are both grown adults.

Got to go, got to go to the,
Got to go, got to go…

I want to go to the pooh,
I got to go, I got to go to the pooh,
I want to go to the pooh,
I got to go, I got to go to the pooh,

It’s the story of a kid,
Extremely allergic to fur,
It’s the story of what he did,
He went where the animals were,

To go to the pooh,
A dumb thing to do,
Turned out a lethal lesson,
Logic overthrown by passion,

Tigers and monkeys and lions and donkeys make me happy,
I know I shouldn’t. Resist it, I couldn’t. I went to the pooh,

I want to go to the pooh,
I got to go, I got to go to the pooh,
I want to go to the pooh,
I got to go, I got to go to the pooh,

If you never lived, you cannot die,
Better to crash than never to fly,
From your shadow you cannot hide,
Sometimes desire is suicide,

I want to go to the pooh (???),
I got to go, I got to go the pooh,
I want to go to the pooh (sometimes it feels great to be stupid),
I got to go, I got to go,

Deadly allergy, not enough to stop me from going to the pooh,

I want to go to the pooh (I want to go to the pooh),
I got to go, I got to go to the pooh,
Want to go to the pooh (I want to go to the pooh),
Got to go, got to go to the pooh,

Tigers and monkeys and lions and donkeys make me happy,
I know I shouldn’t. Resist it, I couldn’t. I went to the pooh,

Deadly allergy, not enough to stop me from going to the pooh.

Next up, song titles with the word “heart” replaced with the word “nose”. “I Left My Nose In San Francisco” anyone? OK, maybe not.

Sometimes it feels great to be stupid

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Da22 says:

    Although not drunk it’s still inhernintly funny even more so when you’ve spelt poo as in the loveable bear.. Makes more sense 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. stevenger says:

      Whilst the hook is obviously the “want to go the poo[h]” refrain, I think that the fact we’ve surfaced “I know I shouldn’t. Resist it, I couldn’t. I went to the pooh…” makes this mutually-shameful endeavour worthwhile!

      Like

  2. acidbearboy says:

    I never realised this song had a more serious message than just wanting to go to the zoo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

