Breakbot

I’ve been meaning to write about Breakbot since their second album “Still Waters” was released back in March. Stylistically, nothing has really changed since their 2012 debut “By Your Side”, here they deliver another solid collection of breezy midtempo dance-pop songs influenced by the soft rock and blue eyed soul of the 1970s and the electronic disco sound of the 1980s. They have added a sassy new female vocalist to the group and a stronger live performance element – below you will find a tidy live performance of “Working Day and Night” (from Michael Jackson’s Off The Wall album) and two very cool videos which accompany their singles “Get Lost” and “My Toy”.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Meant to comment on this yesterday. The stuttering effect on that first video is maddening, not Chris-Carter-snapped-to-every-beat enough and not loose enough. Does have a Leighton Meester lookalike (possibly Leighton Meester) in a bad hat, so that’s a positive.

    Don’t know where to start with that “My Toy” video. Not just the sexy-sexy, but the ridiculously wide range of visual stuff it’s referencing. It’s like it was made by Quentin’s musical brother, Disco Tarantino. Very cool. I liked the mouth-bunk-thing.

    Music’s decent, can see why you like it. The MJ cover’s very MJ. If I was in the market for more Daft Punk/Bassment Jaxx-y stuff I’d definitely hunt out more.

    Like

  2. Da22 says:

    After being tortured with Michael Jackson over and over again by my daughter (not torture I know) l can say working day and night is one of my favourites. The above comes nowhere close its like listening to a school band cover of the song, no energy or real passion for the singer at all. Get lost was pretty good, the other song was bland but the video was pretty odd in a good way.

    Like

    1. acidbearboy says:

      They’re not their best songs in my opinion, but I can see where you’re coming from. Their music is pretty flat and samey and the live performances I’ve seen are all a bit uneventful. I guess they’re too cool to dance and let loose!

      Like

Leave a Reply

