Hyper Light Drifter OST

The trailers for this game are incredible.

I can’t comment on the gameplay as I haven’t played it yet (don’t want to pay RRP for it until I actually have time to play it, incase it gets reduced in the meantime) but surely with visuals so stunning and a wonderfully atmospheric soundtrack it barely matters! (it does really).

I listened to about half of the OST on Bandcamp last night and it sounded very much like an evolution of the great work that Disasterpeace did for Fez a couple of years back. At just five dollars, I think I will be enjoying the soundtrack long before I enjoy the game itself. Find a quiet evening, turn out the lights and isolate yourself from reality for while whilst you give it a listen.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Yeah, wow, liking the trailer. That said, I def prefer the self-consciously “pixel art” parts to the pixels-in-motion which is kinda weird for me. The colour palette and effects work really well though.

    Fez is so much it’s own thing in my mind that Disasterpeace’s music doesn’t stand out exactly. I do know the name and am certainly interested to hear more in game-context though. Creating a mood is a proper skill. Cheers for the heads-up, I’ll probe Bandcamp when next I get the chance!

    Like

  2. acidbearboy says:

    The OST is £4 on Steam. Not sure if that is cheaper than $5 on Bandcamp after tax. I listened to the Fez soundtrack and the subsequent remix albums far more than I played the game, sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Da22 says:

    I watched a few vids of this a while back, looks beautiful, like you my time is sparce so no doubt il get it free on gold one day 👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

