Zelda – Famicom Disk System 








The second of two Zelda games arrived this week for the Famicom Disk System. These are the first Famicom Disk System games I’ve ever seen in the flesh and the little yellow disks are really chunky! I hope these photos help show the various parts of the game package and some of the cool artwork from within the manual. This completes my collection of classic and nostalgic 2D Zelda games in Japanese form. I never got into the subsequent games in the same way as these four.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Neat! It all looks so small in your meat hands though. A quick Google tells me that they did produce game disks in colours other than Incredibly Yellow, which is nice.

    Like

    1. acidbearboy says:

      I have pretty small hands actually – “lady fingers” as the woman in the jewellers once called me! The whole package is tiny. Maybe a little bigger than a standard floppy disk, though it’s been a while since I saw one.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Da22 says:

    I’m sure you were there when I borrowed my mates Famicom and disc system? Couldn’t get it working 😢

    Like

    1. acidbearboy says:

      I was, but I don’t really remember the discs. Think I just looked at the machine and the covers.

      Like

      1. Da22 says:

        Most of the games were copies or bootlegs. Remember it looking and feeling like a toy rather than a console like the NES.

        Like

      2. acidbearboy says:

        Yeah dude. I love the little famicom carts and all the different (mostly bright) colours they come in.

        Like

      3. Da22 says:

        Also the fact it has controller storage built in!

        Like

      4. acidbearboy says:

        Pretty sweet, but on the down side they are hardwired.

        Like

      5. Da22 says:

        And mega short! There was a interview with its creator I watched and the reason the NES has detachable pads was because of the high failure rate.

        Like

Leave a Reply

