Mini Movie Reviews October 2016

The Cat In The Hat – 6/10

Starts off brilliantly, really wacky and genuinely funny. Mike Myers is fantastic as the cat, but the film loses momentum in the second half. Few good jokes for grown ups in there which is always nice.

Nausicaa: Valley of the Wind – 8/10

Miyazaki’s debut feature (pre Ghibli Studios) from 1984, based on a manga which he also wrote. I love the look of this film, the detail is great and the animation is impressive for the time. The story is functional and the English dub is well done (including Patrick Stewart) but overall this film wins me over with its wonderful sense of otherworldlyness – much like the French animated film Les Maitres Du Temps from 1982. It also appears to include the inspiration for Final Fantasy’s Chocobos. This video has some good imagery of the underground caverns and the plantlife and nature with fan made ambient music.

47 Ronin – 7/10

I picked this up in the charity shop thinking the synopsis on the back cover sounded interesting. Apparently it’s a famous story, retold with some liberties taken – I.E. magical beasts and funky looking kimonos. Keanu Reeves does a great job of transporting Neo from the Matrix to feudal Japan. His love interest was cute. And despite the opening sequence being a bit shit, I’m glad I stuck with it as things only got better and it ended up being an entertaining film.

Spirited Away – 9/10

I didn’t rate this much when it was released, probably because it wasn’t Princess Mononoke, which I loved. But every time I go back to it I like it more. Great story and characters, lovely score by Joe Hisaishi and, of course, it looks absolutely beautiful.

Anchorman 2 – 8/10

This one was stupid, but in the best kind of way. Laugh out loud moments a plenty, especially from Brick. In fact, you can go watch his highlights clip on YouTube and its just as funny out of context, because Brick is always out of context.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. stevenger says:

    Spirited Away really is good, meandering plotwise and slightly familiar in character-design yet beautifully animated. Saw 47 Ronin earlier this year on a mutual friend’s (accidental) recommendation and was underwhelmed. Think I’ve seen the Nausicaa dub on Film4 at some point (did Gillian Anderson do v/o or was that Mononoke?) but it didn’t make a great impression. Maybe the subbed original might work better for me.

    I’ve got a half-finished TV round-up that this has reminded me to finish.

    Like

    1. acidbearboy says:

      I believe scully was in princess mononoke.

      Like

  2. Da22 says:

    Lol she will always be Sully! I’ve not watched any anime for a long while, that Nausicaa: Valley of the Wind looks really nice. If I actually get chance il try and watch.

    Like

  3. acidbearboy says:

    Hopefully film4 will show Ghibli films over the Xmas period like last year. I can always lend you a dvd if need be. Any anime on Netflix etc?

    Like

    1. stevenger says:

      NetFlix definitely has quite a few series of anywhere between average and excellent quality, not sure how much film stuff they have though. Definitely no Ghibli or Satoshi Kon that I recall. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time was on there at some point, that’s meant to be good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

