SDTOTD #8: Not Poodles

So there I was in my local hypermarché reviewing the flavoursome range of Pot Noodles [NSFW] on offer, when I happened upon this old favourite.

exactly-how-eating-a-bbb-feels

A stray (sober!) thought occurred to me. Surely with the gradual renaming of Indian cities over the last couple of decades this was an error egregious! I hereby propose the renaming of that same extra-hot noodle pot to:

mumbai

No doubt it’s been suggested before, perhaps with less alliteration, yet I’m only half tongue-in-cheek here. The reasoning behind local names and exonyms for cities, regions and countries are proper interesting once you start digging/comparing. One thing I particularly recall from The Tudors was Henry’s use of “Cally” for Calais.

(for the avoidance of doubt, I’m strongly in favour of people/places dictating how they should be known. Mumbai, Kolkata, Mangaluru et al are all super-fine by me).

Noodle-doodle mouses!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Da22 says:

    Ramblings of a mad man 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

