Speedlunky

New World Record time in Spelunky out there, not mine obviously! Spoilers ahoy! Saw this linked to in the comments on Rock Paper Shotgun. The article’s worth a read too, although the piece seems a bit breathless about the idea that complex outcomes can arise from individual simple interactions. It’s like the author has never skimmed Gödel, Escher, Bach‘s wikipedia page. Or played The Hobbit text adventure where the trolls eating you would cause them to die, because (wonderfully!) the same overeating rules applied to everything. Or played 80% of any games ever, most which have the potential for odd little edge cases.

The cynic in me says everything’s easier with a teleporter. The realist in me says “Oh God, oh what, Oh God, oh what, aieeee!”

Stop making that big face!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Da22 says:

    I certainly didn’t see a teleporter dude when we played this? Is it a cheat or is that actuality a playable character? I’m guessing unlockable at best.. With no rules these things become crazy. Still, doubt I could do that. That game was fun when we played it!

    Like

    1. stevenger says:

      Nah, it’s legit. They find it in a crate at the very start by fluke and then make good use of it. I usually teleport myself into trouble and swear never to buy one of those again, ha!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment